10 Halloween Films for Wimps

Now I know I’m in college and the rules dictate that I should dress provocatively and get drunk on Halloween.  But I’d much rather stay home, bake cookies, and put on a film.  The only problem is I’m a HUGE wimp.  I can’t handle anything the least bit scary.  I even avert my eyes when ads for horror films come on.

I’m assuming I’m not the only one with this issue.  And for those of us who want to get into the Halloween spirit but still be able to sleep at night, I thought I’d compile a list of some of my favorites.

1. Cats

CatsMusicalLogo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know this is a weird one.  But cats are a bit creepy right?  And the West End production is all dark and amazing.  Just trust me.

2. The Nightmare Before Christmas

jack-nightmare-before-christmas-14506235-1280-800

 

 

 

 

 

This one is a classic for a reason.

3. Beetlejuice

Beetlejuice

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I still feel the need to watch this one with the lights on but I’m sure it brings alot of us back to our childhoods.  And Michael Keaton is hilarious.

4. Hocus Pocus

Hocus-Pocus_20Things_3

 

 

 

 

 

Another classic that features a young Sarah Jessica Parker and Bette Midler at her best.

5. Harry Potter

behind-the-scenes-footage-from-final-harry-potter-film-hits-web-video-6f199ae35b

 

 

 

 

Great any time of year.

6. Psycho

univ_psycho_frame_c

 

 

 

 

This is kind of as scary as it can get for me.  Its more suspenceful than anything else.  Plus Norman reminds me of my ex.

7. Corpse Bride

cbreview2

 

 

 

 

 

I love the animation, and I kind of tear up at the end.

8. Coraline

coraline

 

 

 

 

 

I actually dressed as her one Halloween.  And its still wonderful and creepy every time I watch it.

9. Paranorman

Paranorman-Website

 

 

 

 

 

There are no words for how cute this film is.  Plus the storyline is pretty awesome, I think.

10. Sweeney Todd

sweeney_todd_hd_72145-1920x1080

 

 

 

 

 

A little gross but come on, its Johnny Depp.

 

Leave a Reply

