Therapy session and a New Diagnosis

As I’d mentioned a couple of posts ago, my mother has been concerned about me lately.  Not to fling diagnoses around, but she believes I’m suffering from some sort of PTSD as a result of the Gil incident.   I don’t necessarily disagree so I made an appointment with my therapist (whom I hadn’t seen in a while).

I relayed the whole story to him with little emotion.  I mentioned my anxiety, insomnia, and that weird moment where Gil crossed my mind out of the blue.  (Apparently that is considered a flashback.) I answered all his questions without shedding a tear until:

“Have you been unusually angry lately?”

“Yes, actually.”

“Oh?”

I then sheepishly told him about my road rage, which admittedly is nothing new.   He was surprised, as everyone always is. I certainly don’t seem the type.  He then asked me when this particularly bad instance of road rage happened.

That was when the tears started.

I couldn’t for the life of me remember.  And I remember everything.

I couldn’t remember what day or where I was or what the driver did that annoyed me.

It terrified me.

Our session was enough for him to diagnose me as suffering from Post Traumatic Stress Reaction.

Pile that on top of all the other stuff thats wrong with me.

2 thoughts on “Therapy session and a New Diagnosis

Leave a Reply

