Film Review: “Frankie and Alice”

220px-Frankie_and_aliceAs per usual, I should have been doing homework tonight but the rain outside was simply demanding a movie and pizza bagels.

I live for tense emotional dramas, the darker the better.  But I had to admit I was a bit apprehensive about this one.  When I was in middle school I decided to watch “Sybil” despite my mother’s warnings and I still regret it to this day.

To quote the synopsis on Wikipedia:

“Frankie is a black woman with dissociative identity disorder, caused by a traumatic incident from her childhood, which she has repressed. She has two alters: Genius, a seven-year-old child; and Alice, a Southern white racist woman, whom Frankie struggles to overcome. With the help of her psychiatrist, Frankie strives to live a life close to normal.”

First of all Halle Berry was absolutely brilliant in this.  I mean really quite impressive. But back to the “Sybil” comparison, the two couldn’t be more different.  Its definitely a bit more of a “Girl Interrupted.  But even that isn’t a fair comparison.  You’re left feeling uplifted and hopeful in the end.  I would definitely recommend!

Leave a Reply

