Kids these days

Alexander2I know, I’m far too young to say something like “kids these days”, I need a porch and a rocking chair.  But something I constantly worry about is the world and culture my children are going to grow up in.  Again, kind of a weird concern for a 21 year-old, but hey, thats me.

Last week I had the pleasure of chaperoning my nephew’s kindergarden class on a field trip.  Needless to say it was pretty adorable.  They went to see a performance of “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day”.  If you’re unfamiliar with it, its a children’s book originally published in 1972 which has been adapted to film and theater.  The premise is simple, a little boy has a really bad day.

But I found myself wondering if its even applicable to children today.  What would it look like if published in 2014?

1972– Alexander has a working dad, stay-at-home mom, and two older brothers.

2014– Alexander would most likely be an only child of divorce.

1972– Alexander is upset he doesn’t get a prize in his cereal box and the sneakers he wants (red with blue stripes) don’t come in his size.

2014– Alexander would probably be upset his mother didn’t let him play with the Ipad during breakfast or buy a new video game.

1972– Alexander cringes at the lima beans for dinner and the kissing that was on TV that night.

2014– One of his parents throws some Chef Boyardee on the stove and calls it a day.  And I don’t even want to think about the stuff on television.

Before any busy working moms freak out, I’m not trying to generalize here.  These are just my thoughts.  But I’ll tell you, it makes me want to raise my kids on some remote farm without cable.

 

2 thoughts on “Kids these days

  1. I love this! What a creative comparison. Ah, the days when sneakers came only in red, white, and/or blue–and didn’t light up. And do kids even know what lima beans are? What; no assigned booster seats in the carpool?
    I’d like a remote farm too . . .

Leave a Reply

