I top “Sixteen Candles

birthday-candlesSo today is my 21st birthday and thankfully the day is almost over.  I didn’t go to Vegas or Atlantic City.  I didn’t go to a club or to a bar with friends.  I didn’t even leave the house.

As you may have read in my last post, my mother fractured her ankle.  I was asked to come home this weekend to help out.  I walked in to 4 days of backed up housework and 6 loads of laundry to do.  I also had to keep an eye on my mother, walk her to the restroom, and bring her anything she needs/wants.

Now this wouldn’t have been too much of an issue as theoretically I could go out in the evening once my father got home from work.  But of course, it snowed, as it always does on my birthday.  Not only could I not leave the house, but no one could come pick me up.

To top things off, half of my family completely forgot.

I really do hate to complain.  After all my mother has been by my side, waiting on me my whole life.  And I know I said I was enjoying adulthood in my last post but this is not what I had in mind.  I also know there are a lot worse things that could happen, but I’m still sitting here trying not to cry.

Has anyone else ever had a birthday like this?  It would really make me feel better to hear about it.

2 thoughts on “I top “Sixteen Candles

  1. Quite a few… Mine is 2 days after Christmas. Everyone is tired of celebrations, food and parties… Lol i quit having expectations years ago! Last bday I turned 50, a biggie. I snuck out for a run alone, took myself out shopping and bought exactly what i wanted! Read a good book and enjoyed my day. Then a good evening with a few family who could make it. But had they not been there, I would have been good with that! I made the day what I wanted with no expectations of anyone…

Leave a Reply

