Thoughts on “The End of Alice” (may include spoilers)

75479Let me preface this by saying that this is definitely NOT the sort of book I would normally read.  I came across it in a post by “A Model Recommends”.  She hadn’t read it either and was apprehensive after reading the synopsis.  But I really have this horrible morbid curiosity, and simply had to find out what happens.

According to Wikipedia:  “The story is mostly narrated by a middle-aged pedophile and child killer who is serving a life sentence.  He receives correspondence from a 19-year-old girl who is on her summer holiday from college and has plans to seduce a 12-year-old neighbourhood boy. The child killer encourages her and gives her tips on seducing children and he delights in the girl’s letters detailing the progress of what she is up to. ”

This is definitely not for anyone with a weak stomach, seriously, trust me.  Ironically though, and I’m not sure if this is just me (please I’d love to hear your thoughts if you’ve read this) but the really gross moments actually didn’t have a whole lot to do with pedophilia.

I also found that the final third of the novel was quite different from the beginning.  Its essentially a twist on “Lolita”.  Here we have a young 12 year-old girl whose most likely been sexually abused in the past and is therefor drawn to the protagonist.  He in turn, must deal with her growing into an adolescent right before his eyes.

Overall, I don’t regret reading it and it certainly didn’t haunt me the way I thought it would.  But I would not recommend it!

Leave a Reply

