Trying something new

So it is currently 10:45 at night as I write this and I find myself in a bit of a pickle.  As usual (because I have done this before) I must pull off an entire semester’s worth of work in the span of about 5 days.  At least I think its 5 days, I’m not even sure of my deadlines.

And I know I probably sound like some kind of lazy idiot skating through life.  Which is partly true I suppose.  I am lazy, (although I like to think my excuses are quite good) but I’m certainly no idiot.  That might be what got me into this vicious cycle.  And like I said I’ve been doing this for a few years now.

So after years of therapy and medication, I’m trying something a bit different.  Maybe if I’m held accountable somehow things will change.  I mean I’m not sure if I’ve ever tried a diary before but something about typed words on a screen makes everything seem much more official and scary.  And hey, someone could even stumble onto this?

So it is currently almost 11 on December 9th.  I have reading to do for a middle eastern studies class I have tomorrow, which I haven’t attended in ages.  And I’ve just found out I have an italian exam on Wednesday (I sort of don’t go to any of my classes).  I also have a bunch of work backed up in that class which should all be done before Wednesday.  I have a paper for another italian class due the 12th, my middle eastern studies final on the 16th, and 3 english papers also due around the 16th.  I have literally done nothing.

So now is when I get into the plan-making phase.  I should get my reading for class tomorrow out of the way.  Then study and do the italian work thats due Wednesday and the paper thats due the 12th.  I don’t have to get up early tomorrow or Wednesday so it all seems doable.  Its just a matter of doing.

If I’m being honest I’m currently sitting in bed, in a slightly messy apartment, while I watch the Big Bang Theory.  And if I’m being embarrassingly honest, its an episode I’ve seen a 1000 times.  I know I have problems.  So as soon as I’m done writing this I’m going to clean up (just the bare minimum) have a bath and then again being totally honest, probably watch Friends for a couple hours.  But work shall get done tonight! Its in writing!

Leave a Reply

